Sri Lanka Women’s Team is in England for ICC World Cup

Sunday Times, where the title is “Sri Lanka women’s team leaves for ICC WWC in England”

The Sri Lanka women’s cricket team left the island on Tuesday (13) to engage in a 5-day conditioning and acclimatization programme ahead of their ICC Women’s World Cup (WWC) 2017 campaign which commences with a game against New Zealand on June 24 in England. The Sri Lanka women’s team, led by Inoka Ranaweera, have been engaged in an intensive training schedule under Head Coach Hemantha Devapriya over the past 45 days, most recently concluding a five-day residential camp at the recently opened SLC Centre of Excellence in Kandy.

 “The team has worked really hard in preparation and have been a 100% committed in every way. It is really great to see how much effort and preparation has gone in, and this is not only on the field – the ladies have spent time in psychological motivation, etiquette, language, grooming and deportment sessions as well. They are as prepared as we can make them in every way. It’s now up to them to go out there and perform in the middle, the way I know they will,” Devapriya stated.

The five-day high intensity residential camp in Kandy saw the ladies undertake strenuous sessions with batting being overseen by Head Coach Hemantha Devapriya, Spin Bowling by Assistant Coach Oshadee Weerasinghe, Fast Bowling by Ravindra Pushpakumara and Fielding by Lanka de Silva who have prepared intensive schedules based on individual requirements of each player.

Sri Lanka will open their ICC WWC campaign with the first round robin game against New Zealand on June 24 at Bristol. Their second game will be against Australia on June 29 at the same venue. The team will move to Taunton to take on hosts England on July 2 before meeting Indian on July 5 and West Indies on July 9 in Derby. On July 12 Sri Lanka will take on South Africa at Taunton before their last game against Pakistan on July 15 at Leicester.

The semi-finals will be played on July 18 at Bristol and July 20 in Derby while the final will be played on July 23 at Lords.

Sri Lanka women’s squad: Inoka Ranaweera (Captain) Prasadani Weerakkodi (VC), Shashikala Sriwardena, Chamari Athapaththu, Eshani Lokusooriya, Dilani Manodara, Sripali Weerakkody, Udeshika Prabodani, Nipuni Hansika, Hasini Perera, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Harshitha Madawi, Ama Kanchana, Chamari Polgampola, Chandima Gunarathne.

Leave a comment

Filed under performance, player selections

Leave a Reply