Bangladesh Squad for Sri Lankan ODI Tour

Anamul Haque and Taijul Islam have been recalled into Bangladesh’s 14-member squad for the three-match ODI series in Sri Lanka, which begins on July 26. They have come in as replacements for Shakib Al Hasan and Liton Das, who have been granted leave by the BCB. Shakib will reportedly be travelling for the Haj pilgrimage, while Liton is getting married. Abu Jayed, who was part of Bangladesh’s 15-member World Cup squad, has been dropped.

Anamul’s last appearance for Bangaladesh came against West Indies 12 months ago, while left-arm spinner Taijul played the last of his four ODIs in September 2016. According to chief selector Minhajul Abedin, they were picked due to their domestic performances.

Mashrafe Mortaza, who continues to lead despite speculation that he might retire, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah and Mohammad Saifuddin have all been passed fit for the tour, after they picked up various injuries during the World Cup.

The Sri Lanka tour is Bangladesh’s first assignment after finishing eighth out of the ten teams at the World Cup. They are without a head coach following the termination of Steve Rhodes‘ contract, although the BCB has suggested that board director Khaled Mahmud, the manager during the World Cup, will take over on a temporary basis.

 **** ****

Leave a comment

Filed under Bangladesh cricket, player selections, Sri Lanka Cricket

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: