SLC T20 League Coaches Named — Jehan Mubarak among Them

News Item in CricketAge. 4 August 2018

Former Sri Lanka player Jehan Mubarak has been Named Specialized Coach For One of the SLC T20 Team, Cricket Age reliably learns. He has been named the coach of Colombo team and Dinesh Chandimal will lead the side.On July 2nd, Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLC) announce the launch of SLC T20 League, which will run from 21st August to 2nd September, 2018.

The league will comprise of 4 teams, namely, Colombo, Dambulla, Galle and Kandy, while each team will play 6 games in the first round, facing each other twice. The top two teams of the points table will go into the finals to be played on the 2nd September, 2018 at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium.

According to sources, SLC has named Sarath Jayawardene and Ruwin Peries also for other two Team’s. their appointment, though, is justified, as both they have won championships last year.

However, Jehan Mubarak started the coaching from last year only with the Bloomfield. And, in his first year itself, Bloomfield was relegated to Tier B form Tier A. In addition, there are 14 clubs in Tier A, and amongst them, only Mubarak was selected for the SLC T20 league, whose team Bloomfield performed poorly last year. He was also associated with  player-cum-coach for Mas Activa, but failed miserably there as well. In all, he has been considered as one of the least successful coach in Sri Lanka domestic cricket.

Even after that, Mubarak has been given a chance as According to sources SLC newly appointed High Performance Manager Asanka Gurusinha is backing him. Also, he comes from Sri Lanka’s Sports Minister Faizer Mustapha’s Royal College!

A stylish left-handed batsman of his time, Mubarak played 13 Tests, 40 ODIs and 16 T20Is for Sri Lanka.

Coaches Of Tier A Teams :

Army – Pasan Wanasinghe,
Chilaw Marinas – Sarath Jayawardena,
CCC – Tharanga Dammika,
Tamil Union – Kapila Weerasinghe,
Colts – Muthumudalige Pushpakumara,
Saracens – Dinesh Weerasinghe,
Ragama – Mahesh Weerasinghe,
Moors – Gayan Wijekoon,
NCC – Ruwin Peries,
SSC – No Coach last year,
SLPA – Omesh Wijesiriwardhna,
BRC – Indika De Seram,
Bloomfield – Jehan Mubarak,
Baduraliya – Thamara Abeyrathne,

Leave a comment

Filed under Sri Lanka Cricket, T20 Cricket

Leave a Reply