Musical Chairs in Selection Committee for Cricket

Courtesy of Daily News, 8 March 2016, where the tile is “Kumar Sangakkara included in Sri Lanka national selection committee”

Kumar Sangakkara has been named in the five-member selection committee which will be led by Aravinda De Silva, the Sri Lanka cricket board announced on Monday (March 7). The selection panel was appointed after Sri Lanka failed in series against New Zealand, India and the Asia Cup in Bangladesh. The committee has been appointed with immediate effect and includes Romesh Kaluwitharana, Lalith Kaluperuma and Ranjith Madurasinghe. De Silva has worked as a selector before as well in 2003, 2010 and also picked the squad for the World Cup in 2011.


“The appointment of the national selection committee was carried out by the minister citing recent failures encountered by the National Team in their Tours to New Zealand, India, Asia Cup in Bangladesh and the inconsistency of selection criteria,” stated the release sent out by the board.

Sri Lanka toured New Zealand in January this year and lost the two-Test series 2-0, the One-Day International series 4-0 and the Twenty20 International series 2-0. They then travelled to India for a three-match T20I series and after making a promising start in the series in Pune, they went on to lose the series 2-1. In the Asia Cup, Sri Lanka managed to defeat the United Arab Emirates but then lost to India, Bangladesh and Pakistan to crash out of the tournament.

Sangakkara has been plying his trade in various Twenty20 leagues across the globe and retired from international cricket in August last year. Kaluwitharana played 49 Tests and 189 One-Day Internationals while Kaluperuma represented Sri Lanka in two Tests and four ODIs. Madurasinghe, the former Sri Lanka pacer, donned the Sri Lanka cap in three Tests and 12 ODIs.

The previous panel led by Kapila Wijegunawardene, Amal Silva, Brendon Kuruppu and Hemantha Wickramaratne was supposed to be in charge of selection duties till April…. (cricbuzz)

Leave a comment

Filed under Aravinda de Silva, cricket and life, cricket governance, cricketing icons, performance, player selections, Sri Lanka Cricket, T20 Cricket, taking the mickey

Leave a Reply