Michael Tissera honoured at last: the Sobers-Tissera Trophy inaugurated

Ranjan Anandappa, in  the Sunday Observer, 11 October 2015, where the title readsAt last Sri Lanka honours Michael Tissera

After back to back series defeats against Pakistan and India, Sri Lanka will be up against another competitive outfit the West Indies who will also be looking for a Test win on Sri Lankan soil which they have not achieved in their 22 year old Test history against the islanders.

Michael Tissera
On the last occasion when the two sides met in a three Test series in Sri Lanka in 2010 all three matches ended in draws, but this time the Windies are confident of breaking the ice and creating history by winning the series. The visitors expect their bowlers to create a big impact as their batsmen look capable enough to justify the hard work done by the bowlers.
The two Test matches will be played for the Sobers- Tissera Trophy with the first Test commencing on October 14 at the Galle International Stadium. The two Test matches are named after two of the great cricketers Sir Garfield Sobers the finest all-rounder ever the game has produced and Sri Lanka’s Micheal Tissera who captained his country in the pre-Test era and played in the inaugural Prudential World Cup held in England in 1975.
Tissera has the unique distinction of leading Sri Lanka , then Ceylon to their first unofficial Test wins against Pakistan (1964) and India (1961). Pakistan was captained by Imitiaz Ahmed and the Indian team was led by Nawab Of Pataudi. Pakistan were beaten at the Colombo Oval and India lost at home in Ahmedabad. Since the 1961 (sic) unofficial Test win against India under Tissera, Sri Lanka is yet to beat India in a Test match on Indian soil.
26.Ceylon Squad for INDIA Ceylon Squad in India, with Tissera as captain, 1964-65

Sobers and Tissera have played in rival sides in 1961 and in 1967. In 1961 prior to Sri Lanka gaining full Test status six West Indian cricketers namely Garfield Sobers, Rohan Kanhai, Chester Watson, Condrad Hunte, Seymour Nurse and Wesley Hall on their way to England took time to play a game along with another four local players wicket keeper H.I.K. Fernando, Priya Perera, Tissa de Soysa,Yatagama Amaradasa and an unknown player from the ships crew named Hewson formed a team which was called the Daily Mirror XI.
The Ceylon Cricket Association team was captained by the late C.I.Gunasekera. Michael Tissera struck an unbeaten 102 in CCA’s total of 180 for 7 in reply to the visitors 305 for 6 declared. Hunte (50), Rohan Kanhai (60 retired), Seymour Nurse (31 retired) Sobers (58) and Wesley Hall (44) were among the runs for the Mirror XI. The CCA XI included C.I.Gunasekera (Captain), Sarath Silva, T.C.T. Edwards, Lasantha Rodrigo, Michael Tissera, D.H.de Silva, Hector Perera, Abu Fuard, Sonny Yatawara, Fitzroy Crozier and K.M.T.Perera.
In 1967 Sobers and Tissera played again this time in a four day game at the Colombo Oval. Tissera could not go the full distance of the game due to injury. When the Sunday Observer asked Michael Tissera about the trophy on offer for the two Test series he said that it was a great honour to be shuffled in with a great player like Sobers who he said was “a better player than me”.
  ****   ****
29 Tissera bowling Tissera bowling —Pic by Chandi Chanmugan
34.SL team 1975 Sri Lankan Squad for ICC Tournament and World Cup in England, 1975
tAMILDREMOVED  Sri Lankans and Aussies take a Tamil demonstration in their stride, KenningtonOval 1975 ….. but JeffThompson was a different proposition SUNIL HIT--PA Photos .. both Sunil Wettimuny and Duleep Mendis were carried out and had to retire hurt … Michael Tissera scored 52 in a total of 276 for four wkts
Prudential World Cup, 7th Match: Australia v Sri Lanka at The Oval, Jun 11, 1975
Prudential World Cup – 7th match, Group B
Australia won by 52 runs
Played at Kennington Oval, London (neutral venue)
11 June 1975 (60-over match)
Australia innings (60 overs maximum) R B 4s 6s SR
RB McCosker b de Silva 73 111 2 0 65.76
A Turner c Mendis b de Silva 101 113 9 1 89.38
IM Chappell* b Kaluperuma 4 7 1 0 57.14
GS Chappell c Opatha b Pieris 50 50 5 1 100.00
KD Walters c Tennekoon b Pieris 59 66 5 0 89.39
JR Thomson not out 9 7 0 0 128.57
RW Marsh not out 9 7 0 0 128.57
Extras (b 1, lb 20, w 1, nb 1) 23
Total (5 wickets; 60 overs) 328 (5.46 runs per over)
Bowling O M R W Econ
ARM Opatha 9 0 32 0 3.55
HSM Pieris 11 0 68 2 6.18
B Warnapura 9 0 40 0 4.44
AN Ranasinghe 7 0 55 0 7.85
DS de Silva 12 3 60 2 5.00
LWS Kaluperuma 12 0 50 1 4.16
Sri Lanka innings (target: 329 runs from 60 overs) R B 4s 6s SR
SRD Wettimuny retired hurt 53 102 7 0 51.96
ER Fernando b Thomson 22 18 4 0 122.22
B Warnapura st †Marsh b Mallett 31 39 5 0 79.48
LRD Mendis retired hurt 32 45 5 0 71.11
APB Tennekoon* b IM Chappell 48 71 6 0 67.60
MH Tissera c Turner b IM Chappell 52 72 7 0 72.22
AN Ranasinghe not out 14 18 3 0 77.77
HSM Pieris not out 0 3 0 0 0.00
Extras (b 6, lb 8, w 8, nb 2) 24
Total (4 wickets; 60 overs) 276 (4.60 runs per over)
Bowling O M R W Econ
DK Lillee 10 0 42 0 4.20
JR Thomson 12 5 22 1 1.83
AA Mallett 12 0 72 1 6.00
KD Walters 6 1 33 0 5.50
MHN Walker 12 1 44 0 3.66
GS Chappell 4 0 25 0 6.25
IM Chappell 4 0 14 2 3.50

Match details

Toss – Sri Lanka, who chose to field
Points – Australia 4, Sri Lanka 0
ODI debut – SRD Wettimuny (Sri Lanka)
Player of the match – A Turner (Australia)
Umpires – WL Budd and AE Fagg


Filed under cricket and life, cricket governance, cricketing icons, Sri Lanka Cricket, unusual people

2 responses to “Michael Tissera honoured at last: the Sobers-Tissera Trophy inaugurated

  1. Pingback: What about the great Satha! | Critiquing Cricket

  2. Pingback: Sobers as Lethal as Amiable: A Bajan Man Extraordinary | Critiquing Cricket

Leave a Reply